Academic News

Pathways Steering Committee Announcement

August 4, 2011

Chancellor Matthew Goldstein has announced the beginning of the next stage of work on the Pathways project at The City University of New York. Consistent with the resolution approved by the Board of Trustees at its meeting of June 27, 2011, a steering committee will create a 30-credit common core by recommending broad disciplinary or interdisciplinary areas based on learning outcomes and assigning credits to those areas. The committee’s work will begin immediately.

After receiving and reviewing nominations from multiple sources and consulting with the University Faculty Senate, the chancellor has advised that the composition of the steering committee will be as follows:

Chair: Michelle Anderson, Dean, CUNY School of Law


  • Paul Attewell, Distinguished Professor of Sociology, Graduate Center
  • Michael Barnhart, Professor of Philosophy, Kingsborough Community College
  • Laird Bergad, Distinguished Professor of Latin American and Caribbean History, Lehman College, and Executive Director of the Center for Latin American, Caribbean and Latino Studies, Graduate Center
  • Theodore Brown, Professor of Computer Science, Queens College, and Executive Officer, Doctoral Program in Computer Science, Graduate Center
  • Katherine Conway, Associate Professor and Deputy Chairperson of Business Management, Borough of Manhattan Community College
  • Edward Grossman, Professor of Mathematics, City College of New York
  • Mona Hadler, Professor of Art, Brooklyn College
  • Orlando Hernandez, Professor of Modern Languages, Hostos Community College
  • Patricia Mathews-Salazar, Professor of Anthropology and Director of the Center for Ethnic Studies, Borough of Manhattan Community College
  • Elizabeth Nunez, Distinguished Professor of English, Hunter College
  • Neal Phillip, Professor of Chemistry and Chair of the Department of Chemistry and Chemistry Technology, Bronx Community College
  • William Fritz, Provost, College of Staten Island
  • Anne Lopes, Dean of Undergraduate Studies, John Jay College
  • Elizabeth Beck, student, LaGuardia Community College
  • Steven Rodriguez, student, City College of New York

Chancellor Goldstein said, “This is an experienced and dedicated group, comprising individuals of distinction and stature in their fields, and I am grateful for their willingness to participate in this important effort.”

The chancellor added that a second committee will be formed by the end of the summer. This much larger working committee will include faculty representatives from each campus. Functions to be shared among working committee members will include advising on learning outcomes and communicating information to and from the campuses. The working committee will function in concert with, and under the guidance of, the steering committee.