Academic News

New Committee Established to Determine Gateway Courses into the Computer Science Major

May 10, 2013

Consistent with the resolution <pdf> approved by the Board of Trustees at its meeting of June 27, 2011, the Pathways initiative establishes the first three to six courses that lead into the largest transfer majors at CUNY. Since fall 2011, faculty committees have convened to determine appropriate courses for biology, business, criminal justice, economics, English, nursing, political science, psychology, sociology, and teacher education. Work on courses for the engineering major is under way.

In spring 2013, a new committee was created to determine the first three to six courses that lead into the major in computer science. The following tenured faculty members are serving on this committee:

  • Professor Gordon Bassen, Kingsborough Community College
  • Professor Ted Brown, Queens College (Committee Chair)
  • Associate Professor Sandie Han, New York City College of Technology
  • Associate Professor Robert Holt, Queensborough Community College
  • Professor Yedidyah Langsam, Brooklyn College
  • Professor Lawrence Muller, LaGuardia Community College
  • Professor Robert Schneider, Lehman College
  • Associate Professor Ching-Song Don Wei, Borough of Manhattan Community College
  • Associate Professor Sarah Zelikovitz, College of Staten Island