State Senate Approves Kathleen M. Pesile As New CUNY Trustee

Kathleen M. Pesile, a financial consultant, teacher, and CUNY alumna, was confirmed by the New York State Senate on June17 to serve on The City University of New York Board of Trustees, effective immediately. A native of Staten Island who still lives there, she was nominated by Governor George E. Pataki as one of Staten Island’s representatives to the CUNY Board. Her term will run through June 30, 2004.

A principal of her own financial services firm, Pesile Financial Group, established in 1995, she was formerly financial consultant and chairperson of the International Banking program of the American Bankers Association. Earlier she was Vice President for Global Markets, and Mergers and Acquisitions for J.P. Morgan & Co.; and was Vice President for Finance and Administration for Capital Cities/ABC.

For two decades Ms. Pesile has been an adjunct lecturer in finance and international business at The College of Staten Island and was a founding faculty member of its Weekend Division. She has also served, since 1995, as an adjunct MBA thesis advisor and examiner at the Stonier Graduate School of Banking at the University of Delaware. She was the founding member of the Peter Rodino Institute at Jersey City State College and the first woman instructor in the Department of Criminal Justice where she developed financial management courses

Ms. Pesile earned her Associate Degree in finance from what was then Staten Island Community College. Afterward, she earned her B.A. and M.A. degrees–both magna cum laude–in public finance and management at Baruch College. She was also a doctoral candidate in international affairs at New York University and recipient of the National Security Scholarship from the National Security Council. Ms. Pesile has been a member of the Board of Directors of the College of Staten Island Foundation and of the CSI Alumni Association.

She replaces Susan Moore Mouner whose term expired last June. The CUNY Board of Trustees is composed of ten Trustees appointed by the Governor, five appointed by the Mayor, and two ex-officio members, the Chair of the University Student Senate and the Chair of the University Faculty Senate.