New CUNY-TV Advisory Committee Taps Prominent Television and Industry Leaders

A Blue Ribbon advisory committee of prominent leaders in television, finance and education has been named to help shape the future of CUNY-TV/Channel 75, the University’s educational cable television station.

James Day, a former president of Channel 13, New York City’s public television broadcast station, is leading the panel, which met for the first time last month. Mr. Day’s distinguished career in public broadcasting includes service on the founding boards of the Public Broadcasting System and Sesame Street, the widely acclaimed children educational program.

The advisory committee will explore promoting ways to increase CUNY-TV viewership, integrating new technologies such as High Definition Television and WEB-TV, collaborating with the business and educational communities and expanding CUNY-TV’s relationships with the city’s cultural institutions.

Founded in 1985 to extend the educational richness of the University beyond its campuses, CUNY-TV now serves tens of thousands of viewers each week and is accessible to more than 2 million cable television viewers throughout the five boroughs.

CUNY-TV’s new, state-of-the-art $3 million digital facility at 34th Street and Fifth Avenue across from the Empire State Building features one of the region’s largest public television production studios.

CUNY-TV’s programming draws from the University’s broad educational curricula, its culturally-diverse student body and the academic, cultural and political interests of the wider University community across the city, state and nation.

Among the original programming is Board of Trustees Chairman Herman Badillo’s weekly exploration of issues in education, Education Forum; Metro View, a public affairs and cultural magazine hosted by CUNY-TV City Editor Edward T. Rogowsky; City Cinematheque, hosted by Professor Jerry Carlson, which showcases the best in world cinema followed by lively discussion with scholars, film professionals and critics; and Women to Women, hosted by Frances Degen Horowitz, President of The Graduate Center. Many of these programs are available on, the station’s web site.

Additional programming is developed in partnership with CUNY campuses and with New York City’s cultural, civic and business communities including The New York Public Library, the Department of Consumer Affairs, American Theatre Wing, NY1, the City Club, the Association for a Better New York, Crain’s New York Business, the Chase Manhattan Bank, the City Opera, Lincoln Center, and the Arts and Business Council.

CUNY-TV is also a forum for nationally and internationally produced programs on dance, drama, music, literature, the fine arts and sciences. Foreign language programs are telecast in French, Spanish, German, Italian, Chinese, Hebrew, Russian and Arabic among other languages.

CUNY-TV Advisory Committee Members

Chairman James Day
Former president of Channel 13, service on founding boards of Public Broadcasting System and Sesame Street.

Richard Aurelio
Founder and former President of NY1 News (a division of Time Warner Cable) and first deputy mayor to John Lindsay.

Helen Gurley Brown
Author and editor-in-chief of Cosmopolitan International.

Alvin Cooperman
Award-winning television, film and theatrical producer.

Ossie Davis
Film and stage actor, director and founder of Third World Cinema.

Michele de Milly
Partner at Geto & de Milly, a prominent public relations and government relations firm.

Donna de Varona
Olympic Gold Medalist for Swimming and ABC sportscaster.

Dasha Epstein
Broadway producer, recipient of three Tony awards.

Lola Finkelstein
Immediate past president of Community Planning Board 5.

Leonard Fleischer
External affairs director, Arts & Business Council and former manager of Exxon Arts Giving Program.

Charles Freeman
Founder and CEO of Commercial Capital Corporation.

Lawrence K. Grossman
Former president of PBS and NBC News.

Richard Heffner
Host of the PBS series, The Open Mind.

Scott Herman
CEO of WINS 1010 AM news radio.

Anne Jackson

Thomas J. McGrath
Partner at Simpson Thacher & Bartlett (retired).

Howard Morgan
CEO Idealab and professor of Decision Sciences at the Wharton School.

Lloyd Morrisett
Founding chair and member of Children TV Workshop Board for 30 years.

J anet Bramwell Norman
Businesswoman and an expert in distance learning.

Alvin Perlmutter
Internationally-acclaimed PBS documentary producer and recipient of six Emmys.

Nanette Rainone
President of Brooklyn Info and Culture, Inc. (BRIC), member of the Brooklyn Cable Access Corporation.

Lloyd Richards
Tony Award-winning director of all August Wilson plays, teacher at the Yale Repertory Theatre and recipient of the National Medal for the Arts from President Clinton in 1993.

Max Rodriguez
Editor and publisher QBR, the Black Book Review.

Roy Scheider
Acclaimed stage, screen and television actor, nominated for Best Supporting Actor in The French Connection and Best Actor for All That Jazz.

Steven H. Scheuer
Media critic.

Sandra Silverman
President, Scherman Foundation.

Carl Spielvogel
Leading international business executive and recently appointed Ambassador to the Slovak Republic by President Clinton.

Gary Steuer
President & CEO, Arts and Business Council, formerly executive director of the National Actors Theatre.

Stuart Match Suna
Founder and developer of Silvercup Studios.

Michael Wach
VP and General Manager of Fox 5 TV.

Eli Wallach
Film, TV and stage actor.