CUNY “Salute To Scholars” December 6 To Honor 219 Faculty Who Have Received Major Awards

The City University of New York will honor 219 award-winning faculty members from throughout the University in a “Salute to Scholars” on Thursday, December 6, at 5:30 p.m. to be held at The Pierpont Morgan Library, 29 East 36th Street in Manhattan.

CUNY Board of Trustees Vice Chairman Benno C. Schmidt, Jr. will bring greetings. Chancellor Matthew Goldstein will dedicate the event to the late Lewis Rudin, former chairman of the Association for a Better New York, and a long-time supporter of CUNY and the Salute to Scholars. He will be joined by members of the Rudin family. Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Louise Mirrer will address the scholars.

Those to be honored have received major nationally competitive grants, awards and fellowships during this past year from foundations, government research agencies and scholarly and professional organizations in recognition of their outstanding scholarship, and creativity. Their topics range from cancer research to music composing, geoscience to medieval letter-writing and much more.

Time: Thursday December 6, 5:30 p.m.
Place: The Pierpont Morgan Library
29 East 36th Street at Madison Avenue, Manhattan