National Medal of Science and Pulitzer Prize Winners Are Among Those Feted at CUNY’s “Salute to Scholars” December 10 at the New York Public Library

A pantheon of outstanding City University of New York scholars including Einstein Professor Emeritus Andreas Acrivos, Distinguished Professors Marie T. Filbin, Robert Alfano, Louis Menand, Bronislaw Czarnocha, and Sheldon Weinbaum will be among 228 award-winning faculty members from throughout the University who will be honored in a “Salute to Scholars” on Tuesday, December 10 at 6 p.m. to be held at the Cecile Bartos Forum Room, New York Public Library, Fifth Avenue and 42nd Street.

Dr. Russell Bessette, Executive Director of the New York State Office of Science, Technology and Academic Research (NYSTAR) will be the keynote speaker. CUNY Board of Trustees Vice Chairman Benno C. Schmidt, Jr., and Chancellor Matthew Goldstein and Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Louise Mirrer will bring greetings.

Those to be honored have received major nationally competitive grants, awards and fellowships during this past year from foundations, government research agencies and scholarly and professional organizations in recognition of their outstanding scholarship. Their topics range from physics to music, urban transportation, research in leprosy and tuberculosis, and geoscience.

President George W. Bush earlier this year presented City College Professor Acrivos with the National Medal of Science in Engineering in recognition of his lifetime of achievement in science. Hostos Community College Professor Czarnocha has been awarded the National Science Foundation Research grant in Mathematics to work on Introducing Indivisible into Calculus Instruction. Professor Menand of the CUNY Graduate Center won the 2002 Pulitzer Prize for History. City College Professor Alfano won a National Science Foundation grant for Subsurface Imaging of Material Cracking and Corrosion Under Paint, and a U.S. Army Medical Research grant for Prostate Cancer Detection Using Near Infrared Spectral Polarization Imaging. Hunter College Distinguished Professor of Biological Sciences Filbin received a Public Health Service/NIH grant to study the Role of Myelin in Spinal Cord Regeneration. City College Distinguished Professor Weinbaum’s many honors included a Whitaker Foundation grant for the creation of a new department and undergraduate degree program in Biomedical Engineering.

Time: Tuesday, December 10, 6 p.m.
Place: The New York Public Library, Cecile Bartos Forum
Fifth Ave. and 42nd Street, Manhattan