Kingsborough “My Turn” student runs marathon through streets of Paris as part of College’s Independent Study

March 16, 2005 | Kingsborough Community College

March 16, 2005- Brooklyn N.Y. – Sixty- four year old Kingsborough Community College “My Turn” student, Michael Jaron, ran the Semi-Marathon de Paris as part of his independent study in the “Walk, Jog and Run” class in the Department of Health, Physical Education and Recreation at KCC.

Wearing a Kingsborough shirt, Mr. Jaron ran the 13.1 miles through the streets of Paris after completing his course-work as part of the “My Turn” program developed at Kingsborough.

Jaron, a consulting Geologist by profession, enrolled in the Kingsborough “My Turn” Program encouraged by his wife, Anne, a full–time Engineering Science student who also attends Kingsborough. He has since taken classes in Chinese History, Hebrew, Chemistry and Body Building as well as in Running.

He says, “I love the college and the program and am especially impressed by the dedication and expertise of the faculty at Kingsborough.”

Kingsborough Community College has long been recognized for its celebrated “My Turn” Program where more than 2,000 senior citizens annually take college courses in classes alongside students who may, at times, be the age of their grandchildren.

The nationally replicated “My Turn” Program at Kingsborough has graduated people in their 60’s, 70’s, 80’s, 90’s and even one or two that were 100 years and older in it’s over twenty-five years of existence. Many parents and grandparents of students have attended Kingsborough at the same time earning Kingsborough a reputation as one of the most unique community colleges in the nation. One of the wonderful things about the program is that it is tuition free for all senior citizens on a space-available basis although they do need to pay registration fees and parking fees.