163 City Tech Students Inducted Into NSCS

Brooklyn, NY — One-hundred-sixty-three freshman and sophomore students were inducted into the City Tech chapter of the National Society of Collegiate Scholars (NSCS) at a recent ceremony.

NSCS was founded in 1994 at George Washington University in the nation’s capital. Since then, the Society has grown to more than 500,000 lifetime members at 215 colleges and universities around the country.

The City Tech chapter was established in 2003 and has more than 200 active members and alumni. As one of this academic year’s community service projects, NSCS and City Tech’s Honors Scholars Program joined together to organize and implement the “Operation Backpack: Hurricane Katrina Relief Effort.” On October 12, sixty-two backpacks filled with school supplies and two boxes filled with additional assorted classroom supplies were shipped to Louisiana State University, which is setting up an elementary school near its campus to serve 1,000 displaced students in grades K-8. The success of the effort was made possible through the generosity of the College community and other donors.

Marcela Katz Armoza, the College’s new acting vice president for enrollment and student affairs, delivered the keynote address at the ceremony. Julia McMillan, director of information services, and Sandra Scriven, director of student activities, were presented with the society’s 2005/2006 Distinguished Member Awards.

NSCS, a member of the Association of College Honor Societies, is the only national honors organization exclusively for college freshmen and sophomores. The society is designed to recognize outstanding academic accomplishment and to assist students in achieving their career objectives. NSCS encourages members to become involved in community service and leadership activities throughout their college careers and to network with other NSCS members and alumni. Membership is by invitation only, based on a grade-point average of 3.5 or above.

Contact: Michele Forsten or Dale Tarnowieski, 718.260.5109, or e-mail mforsten@citytech.cuny.edu or dtarnowieski@citytech.cuny.edu