Baruch College’s Ticker 75th Anniversary Event Wins Alumni Relations Award

December 13, 2007 | Baruch College

Baruch College alumni who attended the 75th anniversary celebration of The Ticker dubbed the well-attended June 6 gala reception the college’s event of the year. Now, the Council for Advancement and Support of Education has made that title official. The organization, an international association of university fundraising and alumni relations professionals, has awarded the event its 2008 CASE District II Gold Medal for Alumni Relations Programming. Baruch the only college in its division to receive the honor.

“I am absolutely ecstatic about the award. The event was very close to my heart because I worked on the paper myself when I was a student at Baruch,” said Lisa Poullard-Burton (’90), the college’s director of alumni relations and the main organizer of the festivities. “People flooded us with memories and stories, which were incredibly helpful in planning what sort of event we needed to pull together.”

First published on May 7, 1932, The Ticker quickly became a fixture of campus culture by printing students’ perspectives on some of the most pressing economic and social issues of the day. It even developed an international audience during World War II, when the newspaper was mailed to enlisted students abroad as a way to keep them informed on campus affairs. An online archive of the newspaper is available at http://history.baruch.cuny.edu/.