Five Macaulay Students Named 2010 Thomas W. Smith Academic Fellows

The Thomas W. Smith Academic Fellowships, exclusive to CUNY Baccalaureate for Unique and Interdisciplinary Studies, recognize superlative academic excellence.

Recipients receive full tuition support until the completion of their degrees. Five Macaulay students were inducted on October 14 at the CUNY Graduate Center in a cohort of 40 new Fellows.

The Macaulay students are:

  • Tyler Alterman ’12 (Hunter College): Social Psychology / Communications Design
  • Daniel Cowen ’11 (Hunter College): Cinematic Perspectives on Religion
  • Mya Marshall ’12 (Hunter College): Hebrew Studies / Creative Writing
  • Ayodele Oti ’12 (City College): International Environmental Public Health
  • Jaimie Stettin ’11 (Hunter College): Literature and Cinema

Thomas W. Smith Academic Fellowships are funded through a generous donation by Mr. Thomas W. Smith to CUNY Baccalaureate for Unique and Interdisciplinary Studies to recognize students’ academic excellence within the program. Eligibility requirements include successful completion of at least 48 credits with at least 6 credits earned in CUNY Baccalaureate, as well as recommendation by the faculty mentor. The Fellowship covers tuition until the student graduates. Since the Fellowship’s inception in 1994, 615 students have been named Smith Fellows.