Search Committee for A New Chancellor Established

The Search Committee for a new Chancellor of The City University of New York will soon be seeking nominations and applications for a successor to Chancellor Matthew Goldstein, who is retiring at the end of June following 14 years of exemplary service to the University.

The Committee is comprised of nine trustees, two college presidents, two faculty members, two student leaders and an alumnus. It was established consistent with the longstanding guidelines of the CUNY Board of Trustees. The search will be assisted by Isaacson, Miller, a highly regarded national executive search firm devoted to recruiting exceptional leaders, and Dr. Jonathan Cole, the prominent scholar and former provost and Dean of Faculties of Columbia University and currently John Mitchell Mason Professor at Columbia.

“The University is seeking a new Chancellor who will maintain the momentum of renewal that has occurred over the past decade and a half,” Chairperson Benno Schmidt said. “The Board seeks an outstanding leader and scholar who has demonstrated a record of achievement within a major higher education system or other complex organization.”

The Search Committee is comprised of the following members:

Benno Schmidt, chairperson
Philip Berry, vice chairperson
Valerie Beal, trustee
Wellington Chen, trustee
Rita DiMartino, trustee
Brian Obergfell, trustee
Peter Pantaleo, trustee
Carol Robles-Roman, trustee
Charles Shorter, trustee
Lisa Coico, president, City College
Jennifer Fernández, student, Queens College
Kafui Kouakou, chairperson, University Student Senate
Felix Matos Rodríguez, president, Eugenio María de Hostos Community College
Terrence Martell, chair, University Faculty Senate
Robert Paaswell, distinguished professor, City College
Seymour Sternberg, alumnus

The Board of Trustees previously appointed William Kelly, president of the CUNY Graduate School and University Center, to serve as Interim Chancellor, effective July 1, 2013.

About The City University of New York:
The City University of New York is the nation’s leading urban public university. Founded in New York City in 1847, the University is comprised of 24 institutions: 11 senior colleges, seven community colleges, the William E. Macaulay Honors College at CUNY, the CUNY Graduate School and University Center, the CUNY Graduate School of Journalism, the CUNY School of Law, the CUNY School of Professional Studies and the CUNY School of Public Health. The University serves more than 269,000 degree credit students and 218,083 adult, continuing and professional education students.College Now, the University’s academic enrichment program, is offered at CUNY campuses and more than 300 high schools throughout the five boroughs of New York City. The University offers online baccalaureate degrees through the School of Professional Studies and an individualized baccalaureate through the CUNY Baccalaureate Degree. Nearly 3 million unique visitors and 10 million page views are served each month via, the University’s website.