A Debt-Free CUNY Degree

August 27, 2013 | CUNY Matters, The University

Nearly 80% Graduate Without a Loan

Nearing graduation from high school in 2007, Michael Suarez looked up some of the colleges his friends were applying to and felt nothing so much as alarm.

cunyDEBTFREEam03“I was apprehensive about college because I knew money was going to be an issue,” he says. “A lot of people I knew were going to private colleges in the Northeast, some out West. I had no idea how they were going to manage this. I knew I could never do it. People kept saying, ‘Just take out loans, just take out loans.’ But I didn’t want to be buried under debt by the time I graduated. So my counselor said, ‘Why don’t you apply to CUNY?'”

Suarez checked the tuition at LaGuardia Community College. “At first, I didn’t believe it,” he says. “I didn’t think I would be able to get a quality education for such an affordable tuition. But I researched it, and I was pretty confident when I walked through the doors of LaGuardia.”

In the spring, Suarez graduated from Hunter College with a degree in psychology, a minor in Italian — and just $1,500 in loans to repay. That’s a fraction of the more than $26,000 average debt that students nationwide graduate with and far less than the tens of thousands of dollars or more that burden many graduates of high-end private institutions in these times of runaway tuition bills.