Students Honored at JFEW Scholars Reception

JFEW Reception March 2014 024On March 27, 2014, City Tech hosted a reception for Jewish Foundation for Education of Women (JFEW) Scholars. This annual event is a celebration of the achievements of student participants in the JFEW Scholars Program and an expression of the College’s appreciation for JFEW’s generous support.

Following introductory remarks by Kirsten Johansen (2nd year JFEW Scholar, Rad Tech) and those by Nazia Ahmad (1st year JFEW Scholar, Rad Tech), Artemis Artoun (1st year JFEW Scholar, Dental Hygiene), Liliya Harelik (1st year JFEW Scholar, Dental Hygiene), and Miriam Herskowitz, (2nd year JFEW Scholar, Dental Hygiene), those in attendance heard from City Tech Provost Bonne August and Special Assistant to the President for Institutional Advancement Stephen Soiffer, JFEW Executive Director Elizabeth Leiman Kraiem, and Alena Kastin, the College’s JFEW program officer, all of whom commended the student scholars on their academic achievement and the program for providing recipients with financial assistance to pursue their education and summer internships in their chosen fields.

The students expressed their gratitude to JFEW for the assistance provided and to their fellow JFEW Scholars for academic guidance and support. Many of the second year scholars, who will graduate in June 2014, hope to return as alumni to offer professional development guidance to future generations of JFEW Scholars.

In addition to those mentioned above, other students from both the first and second year cohorts of JFEW Scholars, the Rad Tech and Dental Hygiene department chairs who serve as faculty mentors, Nursing Professor Andrea Dopwell, who serves as faculty mentor for JFEW Scholars in the Department of Nursing, City Tech Foundation Executive Director Jewel Escobar, and JFEW Program Officer Stacey Winter also attended the reception.