International Higher Education Leaders Visit Guttman

_MG_0950 On April 30, a group of 20 distinguished higher education leaders from countries around the world, including Armenia, Ethiopia and Nicaragua, visited Guttman Community College as part of the International Visitor Leadership Program under the auspices of the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. The purpose of this program is to examine the U.S. system of higher education, its structure, administration, and support services; to explore the changing relationships between colleges and universities and government, the business community, and the non-profit sector; and to facilitate dialogue about shared challenges among educators and administrators of higher education.

_MG_0944Representatives from Guttman included: Joan Lucariello, Interim Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs; Stuart Cochran, Dean, Strategic Planning and Institutional Effectiveness; Rebecca Hoda-Kearse, Assistant Dean, Office of Student Engagement and Success; Student Success Advocates Randy Moore and Ramon De los Santos; Career Strategists Lauren DiMartino and Jovanny Suriel; Rochel Pinder, Director, Office of Partnerships and Community Engagement; Daniel Ambrose, Director for Mentoring and Student Success; and faculty members Laura Gambino, Nicola Blake, Nate Mickelson, Chet Jordan, and Derek Tesser.

Provost Lucariello welcomed the visiting educators and Dean Cochran gave an informative overview of the planning of the college and the development of its educational model. Guttman faculty members and staff then offered additional perspectives about different aspects of Guttman’s supportive academic program. The event provided the visiting academics valuable insights into ways to improve student success, especially for those less prepared for college-level work. Guttman faculty and staff, in turn, learned more about the challenges facing higher education leaders in other countries. Overall, the program was a unique opportunity to share ideas and best practices.