Accreditation of Business Programs At Medgar Evers College

The Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs (ACBSP) has granted conditional reaffirmation of accreditation to Medgar Evers College (MEC) of The City University of New York for its business programs.  Dr. Rudolph F. Crew, President, received an official letter from ACBSP on May 19, 2014.

MEC was first accredited by ACBSP in 2003. The College is required to go through the reaffirmation process every ten years to maintain ACBSP accreditation. “Medgar Evers College has shown their commitment to teaching excellence and to the process of quality improvement by participating in the accreditation process,” said ACBSP Director of Accreditation Steve Parscale, who will present the Certificate of Reaffirmation of Accreditation at the ACBSP Annual Conference in Chicago, Illinois, June 29.

“This reaffirmation of accreditation is evidence that Medgar Evers College is committed to providing the highest quality business education for their students for the next 10 years, just as they have done since 2003,” said Parscale.

Established in 1988, ACBSP is the only organization offering specialized business accreditation for all degree levels, from associate to baccalaureate to doctoral degree programs. ACBSP accreditation certifies that the teaching and learning processes within the School of Business at MEC meet the rigorous educational standards established by ACBSP.

The mission of ACBSP is to promote continuous improvement and recognize excellence in the accreditation of business education programs around the world. ACBSPis recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA) as a specialized accreditation agency for business education. ACBSP currently has 1,233 member campuses, 195 of which are located outside of the United States, and of those campuses, 923 have achieved accreditation and more than 210 are in candidacy for accreditation.  Individual members on these campuses now exceed 11,000.

MEC is also proud to announce we have multiple individual programs of study that receive accreditations by their respective professional accreditation agencies. For more information on accreditations within the School of Science, Health and Technology, School of Business, and the School of Liberal Arts and Education; along with a full MSCHE Monitoring Report, visit our website.

President Crew extends gratitude to ACBSP for their continued guidance and support through the process.  He also thanks the former Provost and Senior Vice President; Dr. Karrin Wilks, and the Self-Study Writing Team – Dr. Emmanuel Egbe, Ms. Tanya Serdiuk, Professor Kimberlee Moorning, Dr. Jit Chandan, Professor Paul Cox, Dr. Eva Chan, and Mr. LeVar Burke – for their diligence and steadfastness.   Special thanks must equally go to Dr. Egbe, former Dean of the School of Business, past Regional President of the ACBSP and the Self Study Coordinator, and Tanya Serdiuk who were the lead on the current reaffirmation project.

Congratulations to the School of Business on this great achievement.