A Message On The Executive Order Limiting Entry into the United States

To assist CUNY students, faculty and staff who are impacted by President Trump’s executive order of January 27, 2017 limiting entry into the United States by individuals from seven countries: Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen, CUNY provides the following information.

Until further notice, we recommend that immigrant and non-immigrant students, faculty and staff from those seven countries avoid travel outside the United States. Though the Department of Homeland Security has announced that permanent residents from the seven countries will not be barred reentry, we think it prudent for permanent residents to avoid travel until the issues surrounding enforcement of the order are clarified.

CUNY students, faculty and staff in the United States with questions about their immigration status and/or travel abroad should write to Citizenship Now! at citizenshipnowinfo@cuny.edu. Students can also contact their campus International Student Advisor. If students, faculty or staff are detained trying to enter the United States, or are abroad and need guidance, please contact CUNY Citizenship Now! attorney Isabel Bucaram, Esq. by text, phone call or WhatsApp at 646-860-5678.