ICYMI: Union-Backed Center Polishes Skills, Broadens Education
As Jobs’ Complexity Grows, Murphy Institute Helps Bridge Knowledge Gap

The Chief
By Bob Hennelly

A PLACE TO GROW: Esther Murray and Anthony Scruggs both found the Murphy Institute a nurturing place where they could hone their educations and develop skills that allowed them to get more out of their jobs. Mr. Scruggs said that when he began he was concerned that his fellow students were all smarter than him, and ‘The biggest surprise was that I was able to do it. I cried when I graduated.’

Over the next five years, more than a third of New York City’s municipal workforce will be retiring. That is a lot of succession-planning, and union officials tell this newspaper that city workers who want to advance during this massive generational shift are going to have to hit the books.

“Over the next five years, 120,000 city workers will retire, and we really need the professional public employees that remain to be up to the challenges that lay ahead,” said Henry Garrido, executive director of District Council 37, which has 125,000 members.

Tech Driving Changes
The decades between when retiring city workers first started their careers with the city and now mark a period of unprecedented change in both America’s public- and private-sector workplaces. In 2014, Government Technology magazine reported that local governments were already years into a full embrace of the latest technology to meet expectations of an increasingly tech-savvy public.

In the mid-1990s, the NYPD’s CompStat program set the standard nationally for local governments’ use of stat programs and data analytics to measure and improve their performance. Nowhere was the impact of the advance of technology more evident than in health care, where the imperative became reducing hospital stays and promoting outpatient and in-home care.