Latest News

Check out everything that's happening at CUNY Law

CUNY Law Hosts Fifteenth Annual CUNY Moot Court Summer Competition

October 1, 2010

On Saturday, September 11, 2010, CUNY Moot Court hosted the oral arguments of the Fifteenth Annual CUNY Moot Court Summer Competition. The team of Marc Baum (2L) and Alexandra Winter (2L) won the final round of the competition against the second place team of Deidre Baker (2L) and Golden McCarthy (2L). Alexandra Winter won the Best Oral Argument Award.

Hon. Diccia Pineda-Kirwan ('86, center) and the winning team of Alexandra Winter and Marc Baum. Photo by Jeff Kirchmeier.
Hon. Diccia Pineda-Kirwan (’86, center) and the winning team of Alexandra Winter and Marc Baum. Photo by Jeff Kirchmeier.

View Photo Slideshow »

Additionally, the team of Deidre and Golden also won the Best Brief Award. The team of Daniel Caplow (2L) and Hilary Wilecki (2L) took the Second-Place Brief Award, while Molly Catchen (2L) and Victoria Roytenberg (2L) had the Third-Place Brief. Eric Washer (2L) won the Best Oral Argument Award for the Preliminary Rounds.

The Annual Moot Court Summer Competition and Advocacy Training program is held every year for CUNY students interested in improving their advocacy skills and in joining CUNY Moot Court. Students are given a case record and must write a substantial appellate brief based upon their own research. After each team submits its appellate brief in late summer, the students argue the issues against other teams before a panel of judges. Students who meet a qualifying score in the competition are invited to become members of CUNY Moot Court.

The Summer Competition is organized and run by current Moot Court members. The Summer Competition Coordinator was Justyna Mielczarek (3L), and the Summer Competition Committee consisted of Elizabeth Cordoba (3L) and Becca Olson (3L). Current first-year students acted as bailiffs and timekeepers, and judges included alum, faculty, attorneys, and real judges. The final round panel of judges included: Diccia Pineda-Kirwan (CUNY ’86; New York City Civil Court, Queens), Jeffrey Brooks (CUNY ’04; former Moot Court President); Dean Sarah Lazare (Assoc. Dean at Wesleyan University; CUNY ’03), and Prof. Sarah Valentine (Dir. of Student Affairs).

Congratulations to the following students who successfully completed the Summer Competition and are now new members of CUNY Moot Court: Jacob Agron (2L), Ari Ambrose (2L), Deidre Baker (2L), Marc Baum (2L), Katie Bruggeman (3L), Daniel Caplow (2L), Molly Catchen (2L), Blakeley Decktor (2L), Jesse Freeman (2L), Chandra Gavin (2L), Philip Grommet (2L), Jaime Hyman (2L), Elizabeth Kenney (2L), Jean Marie Krowicki (2L), Megan Luzier (2L), Ivory Lai (2L), Golden McCarthy (2L), Katie Musich (2L), Emily Poppish (2L), Victoria Roytenberg (2L), Rhaye Heather Sina (3L), Antonio Smith (2L), Renee Smith (2L), Laura Swink (2L), Rebecca Wallach (2L), Eric Washer (2L), Alexandra Winter (2L), Hilary Wolecki (2L).


Related Categories: Student News

The City University of
New York School of Law

2 Court Square
Long Island City, NY 11101-4356
Phone: 718-340-4200
Copyright © 2014 All Rights Reserved.
Content may not be reproduced without permission.