News & Events

CUNY Nobel Essay Contest Winners

March 12, 2012

Congratulations to the winners of the 2011 CUNY Nobel Science Challenge!

The Nobel Science Challenge Award Ceremony was held Wednesday February 29th 2012, at CUNY’s 80th Street Central Office, where the grand prize was awarded to Viacheslav Manichev, a junior at Hunter College.

The CUNY Nobel Science Challenge was created by Vice Chancellor for Research, Dr. Gillian Small, who envisioned CUNY students contributing to science literacy in New York City. The challenge is write essays describing the scientific concepts underlying the work of one of the 2011 Nobel prize winners or prize-winning teams in Chemistry, Economics, Physics, and Physiology/Medicine.

Each essay must communicate the science in a way that can be easily understood by the general public. More than 150 essays were submitted from undergraduates across the CUNY system.

Committees comprised of faculty in each discipline selected first, second and third place winners in each category. The awards including Apple iMac computers, Apple iPads, and Kindle eBook readers, were presented at the ceremony.  As a bonus, the New York Academy of Sciences (NYAS) awarded a 1-year membership to the four first place winners.

The first place essays in each Nobel category were then reviewed by a committee of outside experts (Brian Greene, co-Founder of the World Science Festival and Professor of Physics at Columbia University, Stacie Bloom, Vice President and Scientific Director of NYAS;, and Terry Krulwich, Professor of Pharmacology and Systems Therapeutics, Mount Sinai School of Medicine) to identify a Grand Prize winner. The external committee selected Mr. Manichev for the Grand Prize of $3,000.

The award ceremony was an impressive display of commitment to the ideals of science from both our students and faculty and paves the way for future science literacy endeavors in our local communities.

For more information on the competition and to read winning essays from previous years visit:

Grand prize winner Viacheslav Manichev, Terry Krulwich, Mt. Sinai School of Medicine & Tracy Day, World Science Festival

2011 Winners:

1st Mr. Viacheslav Manichev (Junior, Hunter)
2nd Mr. Mohammad Rattu (Senior, CCNY/MHC)
3rd Ms. Sabreen Chowdhury (Senior, Hunter)

1st Mr. Kevin Wu (Junior, Hunter)
2nd Mr. Shokhrukh Erkinov (Sophomore, Baruch)
3rd Ms. Caroline Lu (Senior, Baruch)

1st Ms. Ivelina Sotirova (Senior, Hunter)
2nd Mr. Peter Xu (Junior, Queens)
3rd Mr. Gianluca Arianna (Junior, Hunter)

1st Mr. Jake Noveck (Senior, Queens)
2nd Ms. Linda Miranda (Junior, Hunter)
3rd Mr. Daryl Ramai (Senior, York)