The 381st Plenary Session
of The University Faculty Senate
of The City University Of New York
Skylight Room, 9th Floor, The Graduate Center, 365 Fifth Avenue
May 13, 2014
6:30 p.m.


  1. Approval of the Agenda
  2. Approval of the Minutes of April 1, 2014 (enclosed)
  3. Nominations for and Election of Officers and Members-at-Large of the Executive Committee (candidate statements enclosed)
  4. Invited Guest:
    1. Muhammad W. Arshad, Chair of the CUNY University Student Senate, 7:15 p.m. (press release enclosed)
  5. Reports
    1. Representatives to Board of Trustees Committees
    2. Chair

Social at 6:00 p.m. – Refreshments served

Committee meetings:

4:00-4:55 p.m. Community College Caucus, Room 8301


Baruch: Present – Bazzoni, Ellis, Harel, Martell, Pence, Weiser, Wymbs, and Alternates Henken and Kumar. Absent – Edwards and Wine. BMCC: Present – Conway, Freas, Friedman, Gosslau, Salam, Soto, and Alternate Hoffmann. Absent – Brockington and Yablokova. Bronx CC: Present – Lawton. Absent – Bernard, Ismail, and Zevin. Vacancies – 2. Brooklyn: Present – Cohen, Ebert, Florence, Fox, Haggerty, McEntee, Okome, and Perez. Absent – Braine, Day, and Hainline. CCNY: Present – Brass and Dalglish. Absent – Crain, Kalia, Khanbilvardi, Lascar, Laurich, Raj and Watkins. Vacancies – 1 (p/t). CSI: Present – Cason, Cooper, Levine, Petratos, Sanchez, and Verzani. Absent – Lavender. CUNY Law School: Present – Sokkar-Harker. Absent – Cicero. Graduate Center: Present – Burke, Dauben, Giannikos, and Maxfield.   Absent – Aguirre-Molina and Albrecht. Hostos CC: Present – August, Trachman, and Alternate Sharma. Absent – Pimentel, Shad, and Worrell. Hunter: Present – Hickman, Kuhn-Osius, Sonu, and Wirtz. Absent: Young. Vacancies – 7. John Jay: Present – Crossman, Dunham, Kaplowitz, Kapstein, Katz, Kimora, Kubic, and Tovar. Kingsborough CC: Present – Barnhart, Hume, Ruoff, Spear, Stubin, and Alternate Skirka. Absent – Alessandrini, Nanin and Majewicz. LaGuardia CC: Present – Albrecht, Berke, Fernandez, Kapetanakos, Keyes, and Alternate Licari. Absent – Mettler. Lehman: Present – Alexanderson, Boston, Doyran, and Philipp. Absent – DelaCruz, Jervis, and Silverman. Medgar Evers: Present – Barker, Belcon, Brown, and Alternates Franz, Oley, and Riley. Absent – Greene. NYCCT: Present – Cermele, Gelman, Hounion,and Van Loon. Absent: Bennani. Vacancies – 2. Queens: Present – Gonzalez, McElwaine, Savage, and Zevin. Absent – Brody, Costigan, and Grover. Vacancies – 4. Queensborough CC: Present – Counihan, Meltzer, Pecorino, Rome, Tai and Alternate Comeau-Kirschner. Absent: Avens. Vacancies – 1 (p/t). York: Present – Klein. Absent: Barley, Corkery, Lewis, and Rosenthal.

Governance Leaders present included: Burke (GC), Hume (KCC), Kaplowitz (JJ), Keyes (LaG), Pecorino (QCC), and Verzani (CSI).  Executive Director Phipps, Administrative Assistant Pasela, and Secretary Blanchard were also present.

Guests:  Siochain Hughes (Hunter) , Adolfina Koroch (BMCC), David Donabedian (Hunter), Laura Juszczak (Brooklyn), Judith Dunkler (Lehman), Nelcia Robinson (Medgar Evers), Muhammad Arshad  (President, University Student Senate), and Stefanie Jones.

The meeting was called to order by UFS Chair Terrence Martell at 6:30 p.m. in the Skylight Room at the Graduate Center. Eighty-seven of 138 voting members were present.

  1. Approval of the Agenda – The agenda was adopted as proposed.
  2. Approval of the Minutes of April 1, 2014 – The minutes were adopted as proposed.
  3. Nominations for and Election of Officers and Members-at-Large of the Executive Committee – The election was conducted by Professor Peter Alexanderson. He first called for additional nominations for the as-yet uncontested officer seats:  Chair, Vice Chair, and Treasurer. There being no further nominations, he requested the Secretary to cast one ballot to elect these three. He then turned to the election for the office of Secretary, to which Professors Barker and Conway had already been nominated. A call for additional nominations yielded none.  Each candidate then gave a 2-minute speech, followed by balloting. When the ballots were counted, Professor Conway had won with 49 votes to Professor Barker’s 33. Professor Alexanderson then turned to the at-large member election. Two additional nominations were made from the floor: Professor Barker and Professor Christos Giannikos.  All candidates made a 2-minute speech, followed by balloting. When the ballots were counted, the following five were elected:  Professor Barker (75), Professor Barnhart (50), Professor Philipp (76), Professor Tai (66), and Professor Weiser (70).
  4. Invited Guest
    1. Muhammad W. Arshad, Chair of the CUNY University Student Senate (USS) – Chair Martell introduced USS Chair Arshad by saying how much he appreciated Mr. Arshad’s openness to an alliance with the UFS on matters of common interest, noting that much progress had been made particularly in strengthened ties between the USS and the UFS Student Affairs Committee, chaired by Professor Hughes.  Mr. Arshad is a master’s degree candidate in the Public Service Management Program at City College’s Colin L. Powell School for Civic and Global Leadership, and earned a B.S. in chemical engineering from City College.
    2. Mr. Arshad said that he was pleased at the expanded cooperation between the UFS and the USS during the current year, and that he hoped it would continue. He mentioned however that since Student Senate leadership is chosen anew every year, continuity has proven to be difficult historically.  To counter this, he has taken several steps to spread out leadership in the Student Senate by increasing training, delegating more, strengthening ties between the USS and the student governments at each campus, and establishing more long-term projects and goals. One goal he is especially interested in pursuing with the UFS is an increase at CUNY in student advising, perhaps using juniors and seniors to guide newer students about career choices, course selection, etc. He has been discussing with the UFS Student Affairs Committee the possibility of doing some sort of pilot under the auspices of the Office of Academic Affairs. Chair Martell thanked Mr. Arshad for his partnership and for being present.
  5. Reports
    1. Representatives to Board of Trustees Committees – Professor Weiser reported that revisions of Article XV of the CUNY Bylaws would be presented to the Board of Trustees by the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Legal Affairs in September.  The revisions are prompted by new guidelines from the Office of Civil Rights of the U.S. Department of Education about how colleges handle sexual harassment and sexual assault cases.  Professor Weiser had already consulted with the Executive Committee, written up comments on the revisions, and discussed them with Vice Chancellor Schaffer.
    2. Chair – Due to the hour, Chair Martell mentioned just one item.  The CUNY Baccalaureate Program – its structure and location – is under review by the Graduate Center, where it is housed. The UFS has appointed the faculty members to the Program’s governing board since its inception.

Former Chair (twice) Sandi Cooper announced her retirement at the end of the fall semester and thanked everyone for their support over the years.  She received a long ovation and on the motion of Professor Philipp was given permanent floor privileges by unanimous voice vote.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 8:20 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

William Phipps