Members of this committee are appointed by the University Faculty Senate Chair and must all be significant grant recipients. The Faculty Advisory Council works closely with the Research Foundation (RF) to evaluate its operations and to be constructive in ameliorating any challenges that Principal Investigators may be having. They meet quarterly and with the President and senior staff of the RF to apprise faculty on any policy changes and to announce grant opportunities for faculty. Four of the faculty members serve as members of the RF Board of Directors (current members are indicated by an * below.)

You may address questions and concerns to the committee Chair Shirley Raps or by calling the UFS Executive Director, Matthew J. Cotter, 646-664-9035.



Shirley Raps, Hunter College

2017 - 2018


  • Improved customer service
  • Survey of users
  • Transparency of use on non-tax levy funds

Faculty Advisory Council to the Research Foundation of CUNY 2018-2019

(as of 7/18)

First Name Last Name College Email
Shirley Raps* (Chair) Hunter
Loretta Broncaccio-Taras * Kingsborough
Lesley Davenport * Brooklyn
Jamal Jalilan-Marian Baruch
Andrei Jitianu Lehman
Urmi Ghosh-Dastidar NYCCT
Amy Hsin Queens
Karen Hubbard CCNY
Lana B. Karasik CSI
Irina Lyubinskaya CSI
Steven Penrod * John Jay

*FAC member on the RF Board of Directors