The University Faculty Senate is the principal organ of faculty expression and participation in the governance of The City University of New York. Composed of elected delegates from each of the autonomous constituent units of the University*,  its purposes are to assure that the faculty shares policymaking authority and responsibility with regard to appropriate aspects of University-wide planning and operation, and to provide  a channel  of reciprocal communication between the faculty  and the administration of the University. The Senate complements and supplements, at the University level, the Faculty Councils and other deliberative bodies of the colleges and schools of the University. Its powers and responsibilities do not normally extend to matters falling within the areas of concern of such bodies, but only to matters of University-wide import.

The basic philosophic principle of this Charter is that The City University, composed of autonomous constituent units under the jurisdiction of the Board of Trustees, is a “self­ governing community of scholars” in which faculty, administration, and students all have legitimate and meaningful roles to play in the achievement of their common goals.

The basic operational principle of this Charter is that, under the Board of Trustees, the University Faculty Senate constitutes the principal decision making body within the structure of the University with regard to those areas of activity in which the faculty has the primary responsibility; and that in all other areas of faculty interest and concern, the University Faculty Senate constitutes the proper organ for faculty participation in the decision-making processes of the University.


* “Unit” for the purposes of this Charter means the Colleges of the University, the Graduate School and University Center, The Graduate School of Biological Sciences of the Mount Sinai School of Medicine, and The City University School of Law at Queens College.